Photo of visitors on the back porch of Czech Republic’s Solar Decathlon 2013 house.

U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon

Bookmark and Share

Solar Decathlon China

Logo of SD China.

Solar Decathlon China is the result of a memorandum of understanding signed Jan. 18, 2011. According to the memorandum:

… the Governments of the United States of America and the People's Republic of China have a common goal in fostering sustainable economic and social development while encouraging the use of renewable energy sources and recognize that solar energy development and use is an important part of their collaboration …

Solar Decathlon China is hosted by the National Energy Administration and the U.S. Department of Energy, organized by Peking University, and supported by private companies. For more information, see the Solar Decathlon China website.

Solar Decathlon China 2013

The first Solar Decathlon China was held in Datong, China, August 2–13, 2013. The top finishers were:

  1. University of Wollongong (Australia)
  2. South China University of Technology and Huazhong University of Science and Technology (China)
  3. Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden).

The participating teams were:

  • Tsinghua University and Florida International University (China-United States)
  • Polytechnic Institute of New York University, Ghent University, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute (Belgium-United States)
  • Abbaspour University of Technology (Iran)
  • Peking University and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (China-United States)
  • Tel Aviv University, Shenkar College of Engineering and Design, Neri Bloomfield School of Design and Education, College of Management Academic Studies (Israel)
  • Inner Mongolia University of Technology (China)
  • Alfred State College and Guilin University of Technology and Alfred University (China-United States)
  • London Metropolitan University and Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts (England-China)
  • Shandong Jianzhu University (China)
  • Shanghai Jiaotong University (China)
  • South China University of Technology and Huazhong University of Science and Technology (China)
  • Southeast University (China)
  • University of Wollongong (Australia)
  • Beijing Jiaotong University and Bern University of Applied Sciences (China-Switzerland)
  • New Jersey Institute of Technology and Harbin Institute of Technology (United States-China)
  • Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden)
  • Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (Malaysia)
  • Xiamen University (China)
  • Xi'an University of Architecture and Technology (China)
  • National University of Singapore (Singapore).