Skip to main content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube
  • Newsletter
  • Google+
Golden, Colorado
April 17–19, 2020
Photo of a model home for the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon.

2020 Design Challenge Participating Teams

Eighty-two teams from 55 collegiate institutions are participating in the next U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon Design Challenge! These teams are vying to be selected as one of the finalist teams that will compete during the Design Challenge Weekend, April 17–19, 2020.

The 55 collegiate institutions participating in the 2020 Design Challenge are:

  • Academy of Art University (San Francisco, California)
  • Alexandria University (Alexandria, Egypt)
  • Atlanta University Center Consortium (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Ball State University (Muncie, Indiana)
  • Blackburn College (Carlinville, Illinois)
  • California State University, Fullerton (Fullerton, California)
  • Cape Fear Community College (Wilmington, North Carolina)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)
  • Colorado School of Mines (Golden, Colorado)
  • Colorado State University (Fort Collins, Colorado)
  • Daytona State College (Daytona Beach, Florida)
  • Dr. Bhanuben Nanavati College of Architecture for Women (Pune, India)
  • Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (Indianapolis, Indiana)
  • Iowa State University (Ames, Iowa)
  • Kansas State University (Manhattan, Kansas)
  • King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, Massachusetts)
  • Miami University (Oxford, Ohio)
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology (Rolla, Missouri)
  • Monash University (Melbourne, Australia)
  • Morehouse College (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (Greensboro, North Carolina)
  • Pennsylvania College of Technology (Williamsport, Pennsylvania)
  • Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana)
  • Queen's University (Kingston, Ontario, Canada)
  • Ryerson University (Toronto, Ontario)
  • Salt Lake Community College (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Southeast University (Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China)
  • State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (Syracuse, New York)
  • Syracuse University (Syracuse, New York)
  • Temple University (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  • The Pennsylvania State University (Centre County, Pennsylvania)
  • The University of Alabama at Birmingham (Birmingham, Alabama)
  • The University of Arizona (Tucson, Arizona)
  • The University of British Columbia (Vancouver, British Columbia)
  • Thomas Jefferson University (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  • Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León (Nuevo Leon, Mexico)
  • Universidad Tecnológica Indoamérica (Quito, Ecuador)
  • Universidade de Brasília (Brasilia, Brasil)
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia (Seri Kembangan, Malaysia)
  • University of California Los Angeles (Los Angeles, California)
  • University of Central Florida (Orlando, Florida)
  • University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • University of the District of Columbia (Washington, D.C.)
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Champaign County, Illinois)
  • University of Oregon (Eugene, Oregon)
  • University of Wisconsin–Madison (Madison, Wisconsin)
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Milwaukee, Wisconsin)
  • University of Wisconsin-Platteville (Platteville, Wisconsin)
  • Vermont Technical College (Randolph, Vermont)
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Blacksburg, Virginia)
  • Washington-Alexandria Architecture Center (Alexandria, Virginia)
  • Washington University in St. Louis (St. Louis, Missouri)
  • West Virginia University (Morgantown, West Virginia)

Finalists will be announced in February 2020, and winning teams will be selected in April 2020.