Skip to main content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • Instagram
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Newsletter
  • Google+

Announcing the Solar Decathlon 2020 Design Challenge Teams!

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Eighty-two teams from 55 collegiate institutions are participating in the next U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon® Design Challenge! These teams are vying to be selected as one of the finalist teams that will present their projects at an expert-juried event April 17–19, 2020, at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado.

Here are the 55 collegiate institutions participating in the 2020 Design Challenge:

  • Academy of Art University (San Francisco, California)
  • Alexandria University (Alexandria, Egypt)
  • Atlanta University Center Consortium (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Ball State University (Muncie, Indiana)
  • Blackburn College (Carlinville, Illinois)
  • California State University, Fullerton (Fullerton, California)
  • Cape Fear Community College (Wilmington, North Carolina)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)
  • Colorado School of Mines (Golden, Colorado)
  • Colorado State University (Fort Collins, Colorado)
  • Daytona State College (Daytona Beach, Florida)
  • Dr. Bhanuben Nanavati College of Architecture for Women (Pune, India)
  • Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (Indianapolis, Indiana)
  • Iowa State University (Ames, Iowa)
  • Kansas State University (Manhattan, Kansas)
  • King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, Massachusetts)
  • Miami University (Oxford, Ohio)
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology (Rolla, Missouri)
  • Monash University (Melbourne, Australia)
  • Morehouse College (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (Greensboro, North Carolina)
  • Pennsylvania College of Technology (Williamsport, Pennsylvania)
  • Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana)
  • Queen’s University (Kingston, Ontario, Canada)
  • Ryerson University (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
  • Salt Lake Community College (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Southeast University (Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China)
  • State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (Syracuse, New York)
  • Syracuse University (Syracuse, New York)
  • Temple University (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  • The Pennsylvania State University (University Park, Pennsylvania)
  • The University of Alabama at Birmingham (Birmingham, Alabama)
  • The University of Arizona (Tucson, Arizona)
  • The University of British Columbia (Vancouver, British Columbia)
  • Thomas Jefferson University (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  • Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León (Nuevo Leon, Mexico)
  • Universidad Tecnológica Indoamérica (Quito, Ecuador)
  • Universidade de Brasília (Brasilia, Brasil)
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia (Seri Kembangan, Malaysia)
  • University of California Los Angeles (Los Angeles, California)
  • University of Central Florida (Orlando, Florida)
  • University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • University of the District of Columbia (Washington, D.C.)
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Urbana, Illinois)
  • University of Oregon (Eugene, Oregon)
  • University of Wisconsin–Madison (Madison, Wisconsin)
  • University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee (Milwaukee, Wisconsin)
  • University of Wisconsin–Platteville (Platteville, Wisconsin)
  • Vermont Technical College (Randolph, Vermont)
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Blacksburg, Virginia)
  • Washington-Alexandria Architecture Center (Alexandria, Virginia)
  • Washington University in St. Louis (St. Louis, Missouri)
  • West Virginia University (Morgantown, West Virginia)

Finalists will be announced in February 2020.

A model from the 2019 Design Challenge Weekend, April 12-14, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon. (Photo: John DeLa Rosa/U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon)


The U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon offers two tracks: (1) an annual “Design Challenge” and (2) a biennial “Build Challenge.” Participating Build Challenge teams will build and showcase their homes June 24–July 5, 2020, in partnership with the Smithsonian Folklife Festival in Washington, D.C., during which winners will be announced.

The U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon is a collegiate competition that challenges student teams to design and build highly efficient and innovative buildings powered by renewable energy. The winners will be those teams that best blend architectural and engineering excellence with creativity, market potential, building efficiency, and smart energy production. The competition continues to “push the envelope” on the design of the most high-performance, efficient, affordable, and innovative buildings while leveraging opportunities to showcase student innovation and STEM education, as well as to foster workforce development opportunities.

Additional details are on the Solar Decathlon website. The Department of Energy is excited to work with the next generation of building science professionals!

Tags: , , ,



Entries (RSS) | Comments (RSS)