Skip to main content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • Instagram
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Newsletter
  • Google+

2023 Build Challenge Teams

The 21 Finalist Teams in the 2023 Build Challenge represent 23 collegiate institutions spanning 4 countries.

Collegiate Institutions Approved to Proceed:

  1. Arapahoe Community College, Littleton, Colorado
  2. Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana
  3. Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado
  4. Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, India
  5. Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
  6. The Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg, Middletown, Pennsylvania
  7. The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia
  8. The University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas
  9. University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California
  10. University of Colorado Boulder, Boulder, Colorado
  11. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois
  12. University of San Francisco, San Francisco, California
  13. University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario
  14. University of Wyoming, Laramie, Wyoming
  15. Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri
  16. Woodbury University, Burbank, California.

In addition to the teams that have received full approval to proceed and $50,000 in associated prize funds, the following teams are receiving Contingent Approval to Proceed and will continue refining their designs to fully meet the competition criteria. When these teams address the comments provided by the jury, they too will be invited to continue toward construction and will be eligible for the prize funding. 

Collegiate Institutions with Contingent Approval to Proceed:

  1. Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah
  2. Central Washington University, Ellensburg, Washington
  3. Mississippi State University, Starkville, Mississippi
  4. Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
  5. Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts
  6. Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  7. University of California San Diego, La Jolla, California.