Skip to main content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube
  • Google+

Solar Decathlon Latin America and Caribbean

The next Solar Decathlon Latin America and Caribbean will be held in Cali, Colombia in 2019. Currently the organizers are in the process of selecting the competing teams. In addition to the basic principles of the Solar Decathlon, potential teams are asked to focus on housing solutions specifically for the Latin America and Caribbean region that are affordable, meet the needs of occupants with reduced mobility, are suitable for dense urban areas, and make efficient use of natural resources.

Solar Decathlon Latin America and Caribbean was first conceived in March 2014, through a memorandum of understanding between the U.S. Department of Energy and the government of Colombia. The first competition took place in December 2015. On November 21, 2016, representatives from the U.S. Department of Energy; the National Planning Department (DNP) and the Ministry of Mining and Energy (MME) of the Republic of Colombia; and the State of Valle del Cauca, Colombia signed a memorandum of understanding to collaborate on the development of the second Solar Decathlon Latin America and Caribbean.

Solar Decathlon Latin America and Caribbean 2015

The first Solar Decathlon Latin America and Caribbean was held on the campus of Universidad del Valle in Santiago de Cali, Colombia, in December 2015.

The top finishers:

  • Universidad ORT Uruguay (Uruguay)
  • Pontificia Universidad Javeriana de Cali and Universidad ICESI (Colombia)
  • Universidad de Sevilla and Universidad Santiago de Cali (Spain-Colombia)

The other participating teams:

  • London Metropolitan University (United Kingdom)
  • Pontificia Universidad Bolivariana (Colombia)
  • Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (Chile)
  • Pontificia Universidad Javeriana de Bogotá (Colombia)
  • Sena Valle del Cauca (Colombia)
  • Universidad de los Andes (Colombia)
  • Universidad la Salle and Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe (Colombia-Germany)
  • Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería del Perú
  • Universidad San Buenaventura and Universidad Autónoma de Occidente (Colombia)
  • Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Campus Querétero (México)
  • Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Colombia)
  • Universidad Tecnológica de Panamá and Western New England University (Panamá-United States)